Board of Directors


John Gillam

John Gillam



Independent Non-executive Director

John Gillam joined the Board on 31 July 2020 and was appointed Chairman on 24 September 2020.

John has extensive commercial and leadership experience from a 20-year career with Wesfarmers where he held various senior leadership roles including CEO of the Bunnings Group, Managing Director of CSBP and Chairman of Officeworks.

Other directorships and offices (current and recent):

  • Chairman of CSR Limited (Director since December 2017 and Chairman since 1 June 2018)
  • Chairman of BlueFit Pty Limited (since February 2018)
  • Director of Trinity Grammar School (since June 2018)
  • Director of the Heartwell Foundation (since 2009)
  • Director of Clontarf Foundation (since 2017)

Board Committee memberships:

  • Nomination and Governance Committee

GA Hunt

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Non-Independent Executive Director

Greg Hunt joined the Board 0n 5 May 2015.

Greg joined Nufarm in 2012 and was Group Executive Commercial Operations prior to being appointed acting chief executive officer in February 2015.

Greg has considerable executive and agribusiness experience. Greg had a successful career at Elders before being appointed managing director of Elders Australia Limited, a position he held between 2001-2007. After leaving Elders, Greg worked with various private equity firms focussed on the agriculture sector and has acted as a corporate advisor to Australian and international organisations in agribusiness related matters. 

AB Brennan

BCom(Hons), FCS, FAICD

Independent Non-executive Director

Anne Brennan joined the Board on 10 February 2011.

Anne was formerly the Executive Finance Director for the Coates Group and Chief Financial Officer for CSR.  Prior to this Anne was a partner in professional services firms Ernst & Young, Andersen and KPMG.

Other directorships (current and recent):

  • Director of Charter Hall Group (since October 2010)
  • Director Argo Investments Limited (since September 2011)
  • Director of Rabobank New Zealand Limited (since November 2011)
  • Former Director of Rabobank Australia Limited (from November 2011 to September 2020)
  • Former Director of Myer Holdings Limited (from September 2009 to November 2017)

Board Committee memberships:

  • Member of the Audit Committee
  • Member of the Human Resources Committee

GR Davis

BForSc, MAgSc, MBA

Independent Non-executive Director

Gordon Davis joined the Board on 31 May 2011.

Gordon was Managing Director of AWB Limited (from 2006 to 2010) and has held various senior executive positions with Orica Limited, including General Manager of Orica Mining Services (Australia, Asia) and General Manager of Incitec Fertilisers. He has also served in a senior capacity on various industry associations.

Other directorships (current and recent):

  • Director of Healius Limited (formerly Primary Health Care Limited) (since Aug 2015)
  • Director Midway Limited (since April 2016)

Board Committee memberships:

  • Chairman of the Risk & Compliance Committee
  • Member of the Audit Committee
  • Member of the Human Resources Committee

FA Ford

MTax, BBus, FCA

Independent Non-executive Director

Frank Ford joined the Board on 10 October 2012. 

Frank is a former Managing Partner of Deloitte Victoria after a long and successful career as a professional advisor spanning some 35 years.  During that period, Mr Ford was also a member of the Deloitte Global Board, Global Governance Committee and National Management Committee.

Board Committee memberships:

  • Chairman of the Audit Committee
  • Member of the Nomination & Governance Committee

PM Margin

BSc(Hons), MBA

Independent Non-executive Director

Peter Margin joined the Board on 3 October 2011.

Peter has many years of leadership experience in major Australian and international food companies including Executive Chairman of Asahi Holdings (Australia) Pty Ltd, Chief Executive of Goodman Fielder Ltd and before that Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer of National Foods Ltd.

Other directorships (current and recent):

  • Deputy Chairman of Bega Cheese Limited (since September 2020)
  • Director of PACT Group Holdings Limited (since November 2013)
  • Director of Costa Group Holdings Limited (since June 2015)
  • Director of Bega Cheese Limited (from June 2011 to January 2019)

Board Committee memberships:

  • Chairman of the Human Resources Committee
  • Member of the Risk & Compliance Committee

ME McDonald

LLB(Hons), BSc(Hons)

Independent Non-executive Director

Marie McDonald joined the Board on 22 March 2017.

Marie is widely recognised as one of Australia’s leading corporate and commercial lawyers having been a Senior Partner at Ashurst until 2014 where she specialised in mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance and commercial law.

Marie was Chair of the Corporations Committee of the Business Law Section of the Law Council of Australia from 2012 to 2013, having previously been the Deputy Chair, and was a member of the Australian Takeovers Panel from 2001 to 2010.

Other directorships (current and recent):

  • Director of CSL Limited (since 14 August 2013)
  • Director of Nanosonics Limited (since 24 October 2016)
  • Director of Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (since Oct 2016)

Board Committee memberships:

  • Chair of the Nomination & Governance Committee (since March 2020)
  • Member of the Audit Committee
  • Member of the Risk & Compliance Committee

T Takasaki


Non-Independent Non-executive Director

Toshikazu Takasaki joined the Board on 6 December 2012.

Mr Takasaki represents the interests of shareholder Sumitomo Chemical Company (SCC).

He is a former executive of SCC holding senior management positions in businesses relating to crop protection, both within Japan and in the US. He is now a business consultant with a national qualification registered by the Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry as a small and medium sized Enterprise Consultant.

He brings broad industry and international experience to the Board.

Board committee memberships:

  • Member of the Risk & Compliance Committee

Fiona Smith

Group General Counsel and Company Secretary


Fiona joined Nufarm on 20 June 2019 and was appointed company secretary on 27 June 2019.  Fiona is a senior legal and governance professional with 20 years’ experience in company secretarial roles arising from her time spent in such roles in listed companies. Fiona reports directly to the Board.  She holds a Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Law from the Australian National University and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Governance.